Minutes

Commission on the Selection and Tenure of Administrative Law Judges
Meeting held on November 3, 2023
1:02 p.m. until 1:49 p.m.
Webex Meeting

Judge Robert Rigsby (Commission Chair) called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. Judge Rigsby ascertained that all current members of the Commission were present. A quorum was established. Judge Rigsby noted that the seat reserved for the Council's representative was unfilled. Present at the meeting were:

Judge Robert Rigsby Ms. Nadine Wilburn Mr. Rob Hawkins Chief Administrative Law Judge Colleen Currie

Smruti Radkar, General Counsel of the Office of Administrative Hearings, was present. Joseph Mangan, Staff Assistant to Chief Currie, was present to take meeting minutes and serve as Webex meeting moderator. Several members of the public were also in attendance.

Judge Rigsby moved to enter closed session pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(10). The purpose of the closed session was to discuss the reappointments of Administrative Law Judges Scott A. Harvey, Arabella W. Teal, Nichole Opkins, and Thomas M. Deal. Judge Rigsby conducted a roll call vote of the Commission members to enter closed session. The Commission voted unanimously to enter a closed session. The meeting moderator moved the public attendees to the Webex lobby.

The Commission reopened the public meeting after meeting in closed session. The meeting moderator moved the public attendees from the Webex lobby to the Webex meeting. Judge Rigsby congratulated the Administrative Law Judges on their reappointments.

Judge Rigsby gave the floor to Chief Currie to lead the discussion of proposed amends to the regulations regarding the operation of the Commission. The Commission discussed the proposed amendments.

The Chief told the Commission that two Commission meetings would need to be scheduled at the beginning of 2024 to discuss the reappointment of eight Administrative Law Judges. The meetings will be scheduled at a later date.

Judge Rigsby moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded, and the meeting adjourned at 1:49 p.m.