MINUTES

COMMISSION ON THE SELECTION AND TENURE

OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Meeting held on December 11, 2019

10:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

441 4th Street, NW, Offices of OAH, Suite 450 North

(Anacostia Room)

The COST session was called to Order at 10:00 a.m. by Judge Yvonne Williams (Board Chair), who ascertained that all members of the Commission were present and a proper quorum was established. Present were:

Judge Yvonne Williams Mr. Joseph Onek Mr. Rob Hawkins Ms. Nadine Wilburn Chief ALJ Eugene Adams

Also present was:

OAH Deputy General Counsel Louis Neal was present to take notes of the meeting, as the Conference room did not have electronic recording equipment.

The Commission voted to adopt the Agenda for the meeting.

At this point, the Commission voted to enter into its Executive Session (non-public), and unanimously voted to close the public session in order to discuss personnel matters pursuant to D.C. Official Code \S 2-575(b)(10) – namely, to interview candidates for administrative law judge positions at OAH.

During 1st Closed Session:

Interviewed six (6) of the nine (9) candidates for OAH Administrative Law Judge positions:

At 1:00 p.m., the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the Executive Session for a one hour lunch break.

At 2:00 p.m., the Commission voted unanimously to resume the Executive Session (non-public), and continue to interview the three (3) remaining ALJ Candidates.

During 2nd Closed Session:

Interviewed three (3) remaining candidates for OAH Administrative Law Judge positions:

Upon the conclusion of the interviews and discussions, a vote was taken regarding the selections and runner-up and after a unanimous vote to do so, the Meeting was concluded by the Board Chair at 4:00 p.m.